国家自然科学基金委员会

关于受资助项目科研论文实行开放获取的政策声明

 

公共资金资助科学研究,是社会创造知识、支持创新、促进发展的重要手段。受资助项目所发表的科研论文是全社会的知识资源,其在全社会的开放获取,将促进知识传播利用,推进科学事业的全球化进程,并能将公共投资所产生的知识迅速转化为全社会的创新发展能力,让知识普惠社会发展。


为此,特制定国家自然科学基金受资助项目科研论文的开放获取政策


自本政策发布之日起,国家自然科学基金全部或部分资助的科研项目投稿并在学术期刊上发表研究论文的作者应在论文发表时,将同行评议后录用的最终审定稿,存储到国家自然科学基金委员会的知识库,不晚于发表后12个月开放获取。如果出版社允许提前开放获取,应予提前;如果论文是开放出版的,或出版社允许存储最终出版PDF版的,应存储论文出版PDF版,并立即开放获取。


授权我委相关部门制定受资助项目科研论文开放获取细则,建立开放获取知识库,按照国际通用规范,支持公众通过网络检索开放获取内容。


要求我委相关部门积极与国家相关部门和公共教育科研机构合作,推动国家各类科技计划和公共机构资助项目已发表论文的开放获取;要求我委相关部门积极与国际科技界合作,共同促进公共资助项目科研论文在全球的开放共享。

NSFC PolicyStatement on

Open Access(OA) to the research publications of Its Funded  Projects

 

Supporting scientific research through public funding is an important way for the society to generate knowledge, promote innovation and stimulate development. Thepublications of the funded projects are a knowledge base of the entire society. OA to the entire society will facilitate the knowledge dissemination  and utility and accelerate the globalization of science. Furthermore, OA to research publications can quickly transform the knowledge generated by public investment into innovative and development capabilities for the entire society, which will greatly benefit the development of the society.

 

For the above reasons, the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) establishes the following open access policies on the research publications from its funded projects.

 

From the day this policy statement is enacted, research papers generated from projects fully or partially funded by NSFC,  when submitted and published in academic journals, the authors of the papers should deposit the final manuscripts, which have been peer reviewed and accepted by the journals to the NSFC repository   with an embargo period of no more than 12 months. Earlier OA should be provided if the publisher allows. If the paper is published in an open access journal or the publisher allows deposit of the published version in PDF format, such version should be deposited into the NSFC repository  and the OA should be provided immediately.

 

NSFC authorizes its relevant departments to formulate detailed rules and regulations on OA of the publications from its funded projects, to establish OA repositories and to support public access to the repositories through web search and retrieval that follows the international standard.

 

NSFC requires its relevant departments to actively collaborate with relevant state departments and public education and research institutions  to facilitate all state science and technology plans and OA of the publications generated from publicly funded projects. NSFC requires its relevant departments to actively seek collaboration with the international scientific community to facilitate the OA of the publications generated from publicly funded projects across the world.